Everything is connected (AKA as the one where Emily’s inability to be chill is revealed)

Standard

Netflix seems to have this magical ability to never create anything bad. Even when the scripts are poor, the quality of Netflix original films and series are undeniable. Now I’m the kind of person who takes any chance to put off doing actually productive things, as I mentioned in my last post, so the incredible amount of decent content on Netflix is something I am remarkably familiar with. Towards the end of last year, an adaptation of the well-known and well-loved Dirk Gently books appeared, and has since dominated my life.

Now, if you’re a fan of the original books (which, to my shame, I haven’t actually read yet) this show barely follows the plot, or contains many of the original characters. But the essence of Douglas Adams is at it’s very heart, and as a huge Hitchhiker’s fan I loved seeing the joyous, random logic on screen again. (Plus Elijah Wood is in it, so you know it’s going to be gold). However, the thing that I loved the most about this series (though if you asked me in person my answer would probably change every time) is the philosophy – if you can even call it that – that drives the plot. That is, the ‘holistic’ part of the ‘holistic detective agency’. The concept that everything is intangibly connected, and that the universe has a plan for us I find oddly comforting. The speech Bart gives about being ‘a leaf on the stream of creation’, although perhaps not an original concept (a similar idea has existed in Buddhism for centuries), is something that during a particularly stressful time in my life is very reassuring.

It’s very likely that I am reading too much into this. I do have a bad habit of attaching significance to things unnecessarily, I guess it’s the English Literature student in me. But regardless, I heartily recommend Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, just in case you too needed something to distract yourself from the overwhelming fear of existence!

If you have watched it, let me know what you think! I am always down for a ridiculously in depth discussion about a TV show.

And now my true level of nerd has been revealed, I’ll bid y’all adieu.

Until next time,

Emily

xxx

Leave a Reply

